Skip to main content

SS-31 (Elamipretide) Dose-Response Evidence

SS-31 / Elamipretide molecular structure

SS-31, known in clinical development as elamipretide, is a tetrapeptide (D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2) that selectively concentrates at the inner mitochondrial membrane by binding cardiolipin. Its dose-response profile has been mapped across rodent, canine, and human systems, with the IV and subcutaneous routes producing distinct pharmacokinetic and efficacy signatures. This page summarizes the dose ranges studied and the outcomes observed. It is written for research and educational purposes; none of the doses described here constitute clinical recommendations.

In September 2025, FDA granted accelerated approval to elamipretide (Forzinity) to improve muscle strength in adults and children with Barth syndrome who weigh at least 30 kg. The approval is indication- and population-specific and requires a confirmatory trial; other uses discussed below remain investigational (FDA Drug Trials Snapshot).

Structural Context for Dose-Response Behavior

SS-31’s amphipathic structure drives its rapid, concentration-dependent partitioning into the inner mitochondrial membrane. The 2’,6’-dimethyltyrosine (Dmt) residue intercalates into the cardiolipin headgroup region; the guanidinium side chain of D-Arg anchors it electrostatically. This mechanism means intracellular target engagement depends more on tissue distribution than on plasma concentration alone, which complicates simple dose-to-effect extrapolation from plasma drug levels.

flowchart TD
    A["SS-31 administered\n(IV or SC)"] --> B["Rapid plasma distribution\n(Tmax: end of infusion)"]
    B --> C["Inner mitochondrial membrane\ncardiolipin binding"]
    C --> D1["Electron transport chain\nstabilization"]
    C --> D2["Reduced ROS emission\nfrom Complex I/III"]
    C --> D3["Restored membrane\npotential (ΔΨm)"]
    D1 --> E["Dose-dependent ATP\nproduction increase"]
    D2 --> E
    D3 --> E
    E --> F["Functional readouts:\n6MWT, VO2 max, force output"]

Preclinical Dose-Response Data

Burn Injury Model (Mouse)

Righi et al. (PMID 23482635, FASEB J 2013) administered a single dose of SS-31 to mice following 30% body surface area burn injury and measured skeletal muscle mitochondrial function by in vivo ³¹P NMR spectroscopy. At 6 hours post-burn, SS-31-treated animals showed a 5-fold increase in oxidative ATP synthesis rate relative to untreated burned controls (p = 0.002). The study used a single dose rather than a titration design, so it establishes biological activity but does not define an EC50 or therapeutic window in this model. Mitochondrial aconitase activity returned to control levels with SS-31, and EPR confirmed improved redox status.

Doxorubicin Cardiotoxicity Model (Rat)

Montalvo et al. (PMID 31774307, Am J Physiol 2020) used SS-31 in rats receiving doxorubicin to examine tissue-specific proteolytic signaling. SS-31 abrogated aberrant mitochondrial ROS emission in both cardiac and diaphragm muscle. The study used a standard preclinical dose rather than a formal dose-escalation design, confirming that cardioprotective effects occur at doses sufficient to suppress doxorubicin-induced ROS, but it does not define the minimum effective dose in this species.

Skeletal Muscle Mitochondria: Canine Heart Failure Model

Sabbah et al. (PMID 30688415, ESC Heart Fail 2019) exposed isolated skeletal muscle mitochondria from dogs with chronic heart failure to elamipretide at 0.01, 0.05, and 0.10 micromolar concentrations in vitro for 1 hour. Dose-dependent improvements were observed across all measured parameters. At 0.10 micromolar:

  • ADP-stimulated respiration increased from 100 to 183 natom O/min/mg protein
  • Mitochondrial membrane potential improved from 0.17 to 0.30 red/green fluorescence ratio
  • Maximum ATP synthesis rate increased from 3,284 to 4,423 RLU/microgram protein
  • Cytochrome c oxidase activity increased from 1,390 to 2,033 natom O/min/mg protein

The same concentrations had no measurable effect in the healthy-dog mitochondrial samples. That comparison is limited to this isolated-mitochondria model and does not establish how people with normal mitochondrial function would respond.

In vivo, the same study treated dogs with subcutaneous elamipretide at 0.5 mg/kg for 3 months. After treatment, skeletal muscle fiber type composition normalized (type 1 fiber proportion: 31% vs. 23% in untreated heart failure dogs, p < 0.05).

Friedreich Ataxia Cellular Model

Zhao et al. (PMID 28852135, Sci Rep 2017) treated lymphoblasts and fibroblasts from Friedreich ataxia patients with SS-31 and observed dose-dependent translational upregulation of frataxin protein. Higher concentrations progressively improved mitochondrial membrane potential, ATP content, NAD+/NADH ratio, and mitochondrial morphology. This in vitro dose-response, while not directly translatable to in vivo doses, establishes the cellular concentration-effect relationship in a disease-relevant background.

Clinical Dose-Response: Intravenous Administration

MMPOWER Phase I/II Dose-Escalation Trial (NCT02367014)

The most directly informative human dose-response dataset comes from Karaa et al. (PMID 29500292, Neurology 2018). This multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase I/II trial enrolled 36 adults with genetically confirmed primary mitochondrial myopathy (PMM). Participants were assigned to one of three intravenous dose cohorts or placebo:

CohortDosen
10.01 mg/kg/h for 2 h/day, 5 days~9
20.10 mg/kg/h for 2 h/day, 5 days~9
30.25 mg/kg/h for 2 h/day, 5 days~9
PlaceboNormal saline~9

Primary efficacy measure: change in 6-minute walk test (6MWT) distance at day 5.

Results showed a statistically significant dose-dependent increase in 6MWT distance (p = 0.014, trend test across dose groups). The highest dose cohort (0.25 mg/kg/h) walked a mean of 64.5 m further at day 5 versus a 20.4 m change in the placebo group (nominal p = 0.053). After covariate adjustment, the difference was 51.2 m vs. 3.0 m for placebo (p = 0.0297). Dose cohorts 1 and 2 showed intermediate effects, consistent with a graded dose-response. No dose-limiting toxicities were observed; adverse events were mild and did not differ significantly between active and placebo groups.

This trial establishes dose-proportional improvement in functional exercise capacity at the doses tested, with the 0.25 mg/kg/h level producing the clearest signal over a short (5-day) treatment window.

Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction (NCT02388464)

Daubert et al. (PMID 29217757, Circ Heart Fail 2017) conducted a double-blind, placebo-controlled, ascending-dose trial in patients with HFrEF (ejection fraction ≤35%). Patients received a single 4-hour IV infusion at one of three doses or placebo:

CohortDosen
10.005 mg/kg/h8
20.050 mg/kg/h8
30.250 mg/kg/h8
Placebo-12

Peak plasma concentrations occurred at end-infusion and were undetectable by 24 hours, indicating a short effective half-life consistent with tissue redistribution.

The primary dose-response finding: the highest dose cohort (0.25 mg/kg/h) showed significant reductions in left ventricular end-diastolic volume (-18 mL; p = 0.009) and end-systolic volume (-14 mL; p = 0.005) at end-infusion compared to placebo. These changes correlated temporally with peak plasma concentrations, supporting a concentration-effect relationship. The lower dose cohorts did not achieve the same volumetric changes. No serious adverse events occurred in any cohort. Blood pressure and heart rate were stable across all dose levels.

This single-infusion trial demonstrates a threshold effect in cardiac remodeling: the 0.05 mg/kg/h dose did not produce the same volumetric signal as 0.25 mg/kg/h, suggesting a steep dose-response at sub-maximal infusion rates in this patient population.

Clinical Dose-Response: Subcutaneous Administration

The subcutaneous route became the standard for longer-duration clinical programs. Across multiple trials, 40 mg/day has been the fixed dose studied.

Single-Dose Mitochondrial ATP Production in Aging Muscle (NCT02245620)

Roshanravan et al. (PMID 34264994, PLoS One 2021) conducted a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 39 healthy older adults (ages 60-85) with evidence of impaired mitochondrial function. Participants received a single 2-hour IV infusion of elamipretide (dose not specified as mg/kg/h in the abstract; the trial was NCT02245620, listed as a phase 2 skeletal muscle function study). In vivo mitochondrial capacity (ATPmax) measured by magnetic resonance spectroscopy was significantly elevated relative to placebo immediately after infusion (%ΔATPmax; p = 0.045). By day 7, no difference remained, consistent with the compound’s short elimination half-life. This experiment provides the first in vivo pharmacodynamic demonstration in aging human muscle: a single dose produces rapid, transient reversal of mitochondrial dysfunction with a time course matched to drug exposure.

MMPOWER Phase 2 Crossover (NCT02805790)

A phase 2 crossover study in PMM patients used subcutaneous elamipretide 40 mg/day for 4 weeks and placebo for 4 weeks, separated by a 4-week washout. Data from the 30-participant trial informed instrument validation for the PMMSA (PMID 36562873). The fixed-dose crossover comparison is not a multi-dose response experiment.

Barth Syndrome Phase 2/3 Crossover and Open-Label Extension (NCT03098797)

Thompson et al. (PMID 33077895, Genet Med 2021) randomized 12 patients with Barth syndrome (BTHS) to 40 mg/day elamipretide subcutaneously or placebo for 12 weeks, then crossed to the opposite arm after a 4-week washout. Neither primary endpoint (6MWT, BTHS-SA symptom scale) was met during the 12-week randomized phase. However, 10 participants enrolled in an open-label extension at 40 mg/day. At 36 weeks of cumulative active treatment, the 6MWT improved by a mean of +95.9 m (p = 0.024) and the BTHS-SA score decreased by 2.1 points (p = 0.031). Secondary endpoints, including knee extensor strength and patient global impression, also showed significant improvement.

The randomized phase did not show efficacy, while the 36-week open-label extension reported improvements. Because the extension lacked a concurrent control and included only 10 participants (eight reaching 36 weeks), it cannot establish that longer exposure caused the change.

Allingham et al. (PMID 36246187, Ophthalmol Sci 2022) administered subcutaneous elamipretide 40 mg/day for 24 weeks to 21 patients with intermediate AMD and high-risk drusen. All adverse events were mild or moderate; the most common were injection-site reactions. No serious systemic adverse events occurred. Among the 18 participants who completed the study, mean BCVA improved by +3.6 letters (p = 0.014) and low-luminance VA by +5.6 letters (p = 0.004). This uncontrolled phase 1 study primarily supports short-term feasibility and tolerability in the enrolled population. The visual-function changes were exploratory within-group signals and do not establish efficacy.

MMPOWER-3 Phase 3 Trial (NCT03323749)

Karaa et al. (PMID 37268435, Neurology 2023) randomized 218 PMM patients 1:1 to 40 mg/day subcutaneous elamipretide or placebo for 24 weeks. Neither primary endpoint was met: the difference in 6MWT change was -3.2 m (95% CI -18.7 to 12.3; p = 0.69) and the PMMSA total fatigue score difference was -0.07 points (p = 0.37). The study confirmed that subcutaneous elamipretide is well-tolerated at this dose over 24 weeks but did not demonstrate efficacy at the 40 mg/day dose in this population and time frame.

The MMPOWER-3 null result, viewed alongside the Barth syndrome 36-week open-label signals, raises the question of whether dose, duration, underlying genotype, or disease mechanism drives response heterogeneity. Participants in MMPOWER-3 were predominantly mtDNA-mutation carriers (74%), while BTHS involves a nuclear TAZ gene defect affecting cardiolipin remodeling directly. This difference in underlying pathophysiology may explain differential pharmacodynamic response at the same dose.

Dose-Response Pattern Across Routes and Indications

The table below summarizes key clinical dose-response observations:

Study (PMID)RouteDose Levels TestedDurationOutcome at Highest Dose
29500292 (MMPOWER I/II)IV0.01, 0.10, 0.25 mg/kg/h5 days+51.2 m 6MWT (adjusted, p = 0.030)
29217757 (HFrEF)IV0.005, 0.05, 0.25 mg/kg/hSingle infusion-18 mL LVEDV (p = 0.009)
34264994 (Aging muscle)IV (single)Not specified per kgSingle infusion+ATPmax (p = 0.045)
33077895 (BTHS crossover)SC40 mg/day12 wk RCT / 36 wk OLENo RCT signal; +95.9 m 6MWT at 36 wk OLE
36246187 (AMD ReCLAIM)SC40 mg/day24 wk+3.6 BCVA letters (p = 0.014)
37268435 (MMPOWER-3)SC40 mg/day24 wkNo 6MWT or fatigue improvement

Pharmacokinetic Determinants of Dose-Response

SS-31 distributes rapidly to tissues after IV administration. Peak plasma concentrations coincide with end-infusion; concentrations are undetectable at 24 hours post-infusion (PMID 29217757). The compound’s half-life in human blood is short, consistent with the Roshanravan observation (PMID 34264994) that a 7-day washout eliminates the ATPmax benefit.

For subcutaneous administration, the pharmacokinetic profile differs. The phase 1 SC safety study (NCT02848313) established the tolerability of daily SC injections at 40 mg, which became the platform dose for subsequent trials. Daily dosing at a fixed 40 mg maintains a steady-state tissue exposure, though the relationship between plasma trough levels and intramitochondrial cardiolipin-bound concentrations remains incompletely characterized in human tissues.

flowchart LR
    A["IV: 0.25 mg/kg/h\n(2-4 h infusion)"] --> B["Cmax at end-infusion\nUndetectable at 24 h"]
    C["SC: 40 mg/day"] --> D["Sustained daily exposure\nSteady-state over weeks"]
    B --> E["Acute functional response\n(hours to days)"]
    D --> F["Cumulative mitochondrial\nrescue (weeks to months)"]
    E --> G["6MWT: dose-dependent\n5-day signal (MMPOWER I/II)"]
    F --> H["6MWT: duration-dependent\n36-wk signal (BTHS OLE)"]

Sources of Response Variability

Several factors complicate dose-response extrapolation across studies:

Mitochondrial disease heterogeneity. PMM encompasses mtDNA point mutations, deletions, and nuclear DNA defects with variable bioenergetic deficits. The severity of baseline mitochondrial dysfunction appears to be a determinant of pharmacodynamic response, as shown in the canine in vitro data where normal mitochondria showed no response (PMID 30688415).

Treatment duration. The BTHS randomized phase (PMID 33077895) produced no primary-endpoint signal at 12 weeks, while an uncontrolled open-label extension reported improvement at 36 weeks. That pattern is hypothesis-generating and does not demonstrate a duration effect.

Endpoint selection. The 6MWT is a composite of mitochondrial function, muscle strength, motivation, and cardiovascular fitness. Short-term IV dosing improved 6MWT in MMPOWER I/II (5 days, highest dose cohort), but longer SC dosing in MMPOWER-3 (24 weeks) did not. Differences in endpoint sensitivity, patient population severity, and trial design may all contribute.

Route-dependent pharmacodynamics. A 4-hour IV infusion creates a high Cmax burst with rapid clearance. Daily SC dosing creates a lower but sustained concentration profile. Whether “burst” or “tonic” exposure is more effective may depend on the biological repair process being targeted.


This page is a research-educational reference. The doses described are those used in published preclinical and clinical studies. Nothing on this page constitutes medical advice or a dosing recommendation for any person. Consult a qualified clinician before making any treatment decisions.

See also

Related peptide family: